Uki – Review and Competition

If you’ve got a toddler or under 5-year-old at home, odds on that they are a Cbeebies fan. Well I know that mine is anyway.

As well as being a Cbeebies fan, he’s also a massive fan of Chris and Pui and ‘Show Me, Show Me’, as I’m sure we all are.

Well recently as he’s been enjoying his daily dose of ‘Show Me, Show Me’, he’s also been fascinated with the new cartoon character Uki who features in the small cartoons they are running during the show.

Now you may be familiar with Uki from the show, but I’m sure you may be surprised (and thrilled) like me to discover that Uki is a bit of a star in his own right, with his own website www.ukiland.com, DVD, games and even Plush toy!

We received a copy of the DVD to take a look at, and have had a lovely couple of mornings watching it. I tend to watch it with my 3yr old once we get back from taking his big brother to school. It’s our special program which we watch and enjoy together.

For the uninitiated Uki is a little yellow creature who lives in a sunflower, and spends his days exploring the nature around him. He has lots of animal friends like Hedgehog, Rabbit and Duck, plus some other friends Sun, Moon and Cloud who act as Uki’s guardian and are always around keeping an eye on him.

On big difference between Uki and other cartoons is that there is Uki does not talk, everyone communicates with sounds and gesturing to the camera. The cartoons are really very sweet, and as there is no speech just soothing music, it’s a very relaxing watch.

You also get to see a bit more of the fun with each episode on the DVD. I think the Show Me, Show Me one’s are slightly shortened, missing out the repetitious parts of the show like the jigsaw at the beginning of each episode, and looking through the album at the end of most episodes.

Jacob absolutely loves this DVD, and even though I knew he liked Uki I’ve been surprised by how much he laughs out loud at him. Some of the episodes on the DVD had him rolling around on the floor laughing. I’m not use why but something about Uki really connects and tickles him.

With the DVD being such a big success in our house, I’m overjoyed to be able to offer you all a chance to win a copy for yourself. I have 2 prize packages to give away to the 2 lucky winners containing an Uki Plush and Uki DVD.

All you need to do to win is leave a comment below letting me know what your favorite Cbeebies programme or Character is? Plus there is an extra entry if you subscribe to Toybuzz (please let me know in a separate comment if you do this, thanks)

Competition closes midnight 19th September.


Fatal error: Call to a member function xpath() on a non-object in /home/martin/src/php/datafeed_studio/admin/models/api/affiliate_window.class.php on line 129

156 thoughts on “Uki – Review and Competition

  • September 12, 2011 at 11:34 am
    Permalink

    My children (and myself) all love Jackanory!!! My children (aged between 7 and 4) love it simply because it is something they can all sit and watch together – just like they all sit and listen to me when I read them a bedtime story each night. And I Jackanory because I love stories and I watched it too as a child, though this was many years ago and it wasn’t quite the same lol! I think stories are one of the best learning formats for young children as they not only develop literacy skills, but they also help develop concentration and imagination too! My children have lots and lots of books and this programme is the next best thing!

    I am subscribed and I am a follower on twitter and tweeting too @d_daydreams xxx

    Thank you for the lovely giveaway and review xxx

  • September 12, 2011 at 11:36 am
    Permalink

    Captain Barnacles

  • September 12, 2011 at 11:37 am
    Permalink

    I love Something Special with Mr Tumble, my all time favourite cbeebies program, I find Mr Tumble very amusing and so do my children.

  • September 12, 2011 at 11:39 am
    Permalink

    Gigglebiz is our favourite!

  • September 12, 2011 at 11:42 am
    Permalink

    We love Justin in Gigglebiz at the moment. My kids love the Aunties and I hold them responsible for the “silly posh voices” at tea time in our house lol x

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:08 pm
    Permalink

    Favourite Cbeebies programme – Grandpa in my pocket

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter loves Grandpa from ‘Grandpa in my pocket’ but I prefer Lola from ‘Charlie & Lola’

    @littleboo_21

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm
    Permalink

    Postman Pat

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm
    Permalink

    Me and my 16 month old little boy absolutely love Mr Tumble from Something Special!

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:23 pm
    Permalink

    Small from big and small xx

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm
    Permalink

    Please sign me up to subscribe to Toybuzz.

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm
    Permalink

    We love Cbeebies loads in our house. Our fave at the moment has to be Gigglebiz has us all laughing!

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm
    Permalink

    My little girl loves anything on cbeebies but her favourite at the moment is upsy daisy

  • September 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm
    Permalink

    Has to be Charlie Bear, my little one’s love him :)

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm
    Permalink

    Subscribed to Toybuzz xx

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter who is nearly three has a real ‘thing’ about Me Too! She particularly loves Bobby, but also refers to Mickey John as ‘Daddy’ whenever she sees him (eek!) and even remarks on Granny Murray’s choice of cardigan at the start of the show. She does have the dvd and it’s saved the day many a time! She would enjoy the Uki DVD as she does love Show Me, Show Me too and especially since we went along to the roadshow earlier this year

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm
    Permalink

    We love Raa Raa The Lion (which has the catchiest theme tune in the world!).

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:08 pm
    Permalink

    SHow me Show Me is fab!! Both my boys love it and are always trying to guess who will come to visit in the lift.

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:11 pm
    Permalink

    Miss Hoolie because she brightens up my day and makes me feel happy!

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:12 pm
    Permalink

    It has to be Gigglebiz! Altogether now: “na na na na na na Gigglebiz, na na na na ho ho ho!…”

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter loves mr tumble….
    Where as i prefer grandpa in my pocket

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm
    Permalink

    My 4 year old son loves ‘Grandpa in my Pocket’ and ‘Come Outside’ the best. He laughs at Uki in ‘Show me show me’ because when he falls he said he lands on his bahookie, so Uki’s name changes, he adds ‘Bah’ at the beginning and then rolls around the floor laughing. Kids will be kids!

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:24 pm
    Permalink

    My favourite character is Mr Maker as he gives me lots of ideas for things to make with the babies although my 2 yr old girl’s favourite is definitely STILL Upsy Daisy!! (My newly 1yr old is also mezmorised by Iggle Piggle :-))

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:24 pm
    Permalink

    Baby jake! Reminds me of my little one

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:25 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter loves baby jake. She giggles her little head off!

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:26 pm
    Permalink

    I have also subscribed to the google feed x

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter loves cbeebies and most of all Mr Maker ( I must admit I am a bit partial myself lol)

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:33 pm
    Permalink

    subscribe to toybuzz through google +

  • September 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm
    Permalink

    my son owen (5) is obsessed with baby jake :) he pretends his baby brother jamie is baby jake

  • September 12, 2011 at 2:03 pm
    Permalink

    I love Mr Tumble and the programmes that he is in. I think it’s important for children to understand that we are all different and brilliant that he teaches sign language in a fun and simple way.

  • September 12, 2011 at 2:05 pm
    Permalink

    My 3 year old loves all the programmes, but at the moment his faves are baby Jake and momobot for his ‘rainbow song’!

  • September 12, 2011 at 2:16 pm
    Permalink

    My favourite character is Jake from The Tweenies, I love it when he is Dot Man.

  • September 12, 2011 at 2:35 pm
    Permalink

    i love justin and mr tumble as this is a great way to introduce the value of sign language for both children and adults

  • September 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm
    Permalink

    Bob the Builder Bob

  • September 13, 2011 at 1:13 am
    Permalink

    WE LOVE OCTONAUTS!!

  • September 13, 2011 at 1:29 am
    Permalink

    grand daughter loves night garden

  • September 13, 2011 at 2:45 am
    Permalink

    My 14 month daughter loves Cbeebies. Her favourite character has to be Mr Tumble. She stops in her tracks everytime he pops up to the screen. She goes to baby signing classes and this has helped a lot with that too.

  • September 13, 2011 at 3:41 am
    Permalink

    The Octonauts and bob the Builder are the biggest hits in my house.

  • September 13, 2011 at 5:08 am
    Permalink

    Upsydaisy from the ‘Night Garden’

  • September 13, 2011 at 5:38 am
    Permalink

    I love Lola from Charlie and Lola!

  • September 13, 2011 at 6:02 am
    Permalink

    In our house our favourite Cbeebies character is Peso from the Oconauts. My 2 and 5 year olds both love him and I think he’s a great role model from them. x

  • September 13, 2011 at 6:40 am
    Permalink

    We Love Postman Pat

  • September 13, 2011 at 6:41 am
    Permalink

    Teletubbies

  • September 13, 2011 at 6:55 am
    Permalink

    justin and mr tumble

  • September 13, 2011 at 6:56 am
    Permalink

    Raa Raa the Noisy Lion….my grandson adores this and sings all the theme tune

  • September 13, 2011 at 8:58 am
    Permalink

    Show me Show me

  • September 13, 2011 at 9:03 am
    Permalink

    My son’s favourite is Iggle Piggle.

  • September 13, 2011 at 9:28 am
    Permalink

    <y son loves watching Mr Tummble on Somthing Special. We used babysigning when he was a baby and the program helped. He still loves to watch and use some of the signs. Its great as my friends child uses macaton so my son "talks" to him

  • September 13, 2011 at 9:52 am
    Permalink

    Our favourite is Alphablocks

  • September 13, 2011 at 9:54 am
    Permalink

    My son loves Zak from the Zingzillas he gets very excited and dances around when they come on!!

  • September 13, 2011 at 9:54 am
    Permalink

    Subscribed to toybuzz with google+

  • September 13, 2011 at 10:10 am
    Permalink

    I love Timmy the Sheep – he’s so cute!

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:34 am
    Permalink

    My little Boy loves Show Me Show me but his ultimate favourite is Baby Jake

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:43 am
    Permalink

    we like Timmy too

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:44 am
    Permalink

    already subscribe to toybuzz

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:45 am
    Permalink

    massive zak fans in our house too!! cant beat the zingzillas to get a grouchy toddler turned back around

  • September 13, 2011 at 12:42 pm
    Permalink

    My favourite is Postman Pat because I liked him when I was young and he’s still doing his job. Not so keen on the new Special Delivery Service one.

    We also all love Grandpa in My pocket – fantastic show.

  • September 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm
    Permalink

    In the night garden it truly relaxes my babies ready for bed

  • September 13, 2011 at 12:58 pm
    Permalink

    Definately the Numberjacks, the Number Taker is quite creepy for a kids show character

  • September 13, 2011 at 2:20 pm
    Permalink

    oooh, we have a few favourites in our house… but at the moment its definitely got to be Mr bloom and his veggies! :o]

  • September 13, 2011 at 2:43 pm
    Permalink

    my grandson loves barnaby bear

  • September 13, 2011 at 7:01 pm
    Permalink

    Their favourite is Bob the Builder although i like Big Barn Farm lol.

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:10 pm
    Permalink

    Gotta be rasta mouse! what a cool little rodent! 😀

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:12 pm
    Permalink

    just subscribed :)

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:54 pm
    Permalink

    Favourite here is Something Special

    @phyllgerry

  • September 13, 2011 at 11:56 pm
    Permalink

    Subscribed via Google Reader

    @phyllgerry

  • September 14, 2011 at 3:50 am
    Permalink

    Zingzillas is a fovourite in our house

  • September 14, 2011 at 4:29 am
    Permalink

    something special

  • September 14, 2011 at 4:48 am
    Permalink

    My fave is Mr Bloom but my sons is Mr Tumble :-)

  • September 14, 2011 at 5:08 am
    Permalink

    My childrens favourite is Mr Bloom!

  • September 14, 2011 at 8:19 am
    Permalink

    Mr Tumble from Something Special. There is something about Justin that appeals to my son who has special needs and my daughter who has’nt. Kids love Mr Tumble and so do I.

  • September 14, 2011 at 12:57 pm
    Permalink

    Octonauts!!

  • September 14, 2011 at 3:30 pm
    Permalink

    Faveourite in our house has got to be show me show me, we know all the songs and stuffy is my sons faveourite.

  • September 15, 2011 at 2:19 am
    Permalink

    Timmy the Sheep!!

  • September 15, 2011 at 3:46 am
    Permalink

    MY FAVOURITE PROGRAM IS IN THE NIGHT GARDEN

  • September 15, 2011 at 4:35 am
    Permalink

    Rasta mouse x

  • September 15, 2011 at 7:10 am
    Permalink

    Timmy the sheep is our favourite!

  • September 15, 2011 at 9:03 am
    Permalink

    My grandson is now 7, and too old for most of CBeebies…however, since he was 3 we have watched Mr Maker and made some very strange concoctions! We still love Mr Maker and I have seen you can now buy the ‘Doodle Draws’..which I’ll get him for Christmas…we will still love Mr maker for some time yet I think!

  • September 15, 2011 at 10:12 am
    Permalink

    Timmy the Sheep

  • September 15, 2011 at 1:43 pm
    Permalink

    We love Timmy the Sheep.

  • September 15, 2011 at 1:44 pm
    Permalink

    I am subscribed to Toybuzz via GFC.

  • September 15, 2011 at 3:26 pm
    Permalink

    timmy

  • September 15, 2011 at 10:57 pm
    Permalink

    In The Night Garden – watched every single day!

  • September 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm
    Permalink

    Shaun the sheep

  • September 16, 2011 at 12:52 am
    Permalink

    my little ones favourite is bob the builder.

  • September 16, 2011 at 6:29 am
    Permalink

    Me & my son love In the Night Garden – it gets him nice & sleepy.

  • September 16, 2011 at 11:01 am
    Permalink

    Its got to be the geordie that Justin does on Gigglebiz. ‘watch and learn bairns, watch and learn.’ Oh my goodness its hilarious. I watch it and laugh out loud, the sarcasm is so so funny.

  • September 16, 2011 at 12:22 pm
    Permalink

    We are loving Mr Tumble:)

  • September 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm
    Permalink

    we loved baby jake! have subscribed to toybuzz by email

  • September 16, 2011 at 10:53 pm
    Permalink

    I love Soren Lawrensen out of Charlie and Lola.

  • September 17, 2011 at 4:40 am
    Permalink

    Mr Tumble is a favourite of my grandson and I

  • September 17, 2011 at 5:34 am
    Permalink

    we love arthur

  • September 17, 2011 at 5:35 am
    Permalink

    subscribed via email

  • September 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm
    Permalink

    Me and my little one’s favourite cbeebies programme is In The Night Garden, she jus absolutely loves it!

  • September 17, 2011 at 1:03 pm
    Permalink

    Timmy time!!

  • September 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm
    Permalink

    I love Big Barn Farm, its just something about the way those animals talk to each other, really makes we laugh!

  • September 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm
    Permalink

    my little ones favourite is mighty mites

  • September 17, 2011 at 3:21 pm
    Permalink

    This week its Timmy the Sheep, but it does change!

  • September 17, 2011 at 5:40 pm
    Permalink

    Baby Jake is the fave :)

  • September 17, 2011 at 7:56 pm
    Permalink

    Timmytime my son loves it!

  • September 18, 2011 at 12:01 am
    Permalink

    I think Mr Tumble is fantastic – It is inspiring that there is a childrens programme that incorporates the use of Makaton signing!

  • September 18, 2011 at 12:23 am
    Permalink

    Baby Jake, we just love that song!

  • September 18, 2011 at 12:40 am
    Permalink

    We Love Mr Bloom –

  • September 18, 2011 at 1:56 am
    Permalink

    I love Charlie and Lola , its so well written and i love the way the characters come to life that you can imagine if you had a lil sister she be just like Lola

  • September 18, 2011 at 2:37 am
    Permalink

    Something Special is the favorite in my house, I can often hear my daughter calling Mr Tumble!

  • September 18, 2011 at 3:32 am
    Permalink

    My favourite character is Bob the Builder because when quality craftmanship is a must, his is the one name you can always trust

  • September 18, 2011 at 4:26 am
    Permalink

    My favourite character is Upsy Daisy from In The Night Garden. My daughter loves her.

  • September 18, 2011 at 4:29 am
    Permalink

    I’ve subscribed to Toybuzz with Google Reader

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:02 am
    Permalink

    I love the music from Rastamouse but the best show is Nina & The Neurons, it’s really interesting :)

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:07 am
    Permalink

    f

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:07 am
    Permalink

    Ooops, apologies for that, my son pressed enter :O

    I’ve subscribed to the newsletter :)

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:28 am
    Permalink

    Our favourite is Waybuloo!

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:42 am
    Permalink

    My daughters absolute favourite is the Octonauts. She absolutely loves them especially Peso Penguin who is her favourite!!

  • September 18, 2011 at 5:43 am
    Permalink

    I have also subscribed to your site. Never come across it before, but looks like a great little site, so I’m sure I’ll be back. Thanks.

  • September 18, 2011 at 6:38 am
    Permalink

    Tummy the sheep

  • September 18, 2011 at 7:18 am
    Permalink

    Anything with justin fletcher in! gigglebiz, something special, tweenies etc etc

  • September 18, 2011 at 7:47 am
    Permalink

    Mr Bloom

    @robynlclarke

  • September 18, 2011 at 8:01 am
    Permalink

    Timmy baaaaaaaa

  • September 18, 2011 at 9:15 am
    Permalink

    I absolutely love Waybaloo – I dont know why, I just find the characters so cute and my children love it too…and its really relaxing to calm them down in the evenings!

  • September 18, 2011 at 10:25 am
    Permalink

    Bob the Builder – we find it very interesting

  • September 18, 2011 at 10:29 am
    Permalink

    Mr Tumble (and all his characters)

  • September 18, 2011 at 10:35 am
    Permalink

    We love Baby Jake, it entertains kiddies from 10 months up to 9 years old!!!

  • September 18, 2011 at 11:19 am
    Permalink

    Lily and I like In the night garden and Mr Tumble :)

    @lilysmum2008

  • September 18, 2011 at 11:31 am
    Permalink

    We all love Timmy Time

  • September 18, 2011 at 11:49 am
    Permalink

    Grandpa In My Pocket – loved by my 2, 4, 6 and 8 year olds.

  • September 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm
    Permalink

    IGGLEPIGGLE

  • September 18, 2011 at 1:11 pm
    Permalink

    Timmy from Timmy Time….can’t help but love the naughtiness of him :0)

  • September 18, 2011 at 2:07 pm
    Permalink

    my little girl is mad about rasta-mouse

  • September 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm
    Permalink

    My favourite Cbeebies character is Timmy the Sheep

  • September 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm
    Permalink

    My daughter loves Mr Tumbles!

  • September 18, 2011 at 3:08 pm
    Permalink

    Subscribed via email :)

  • September 18, 2011 at 7:59 pm
    Permalink

    We love Mr Tumble

  • September 18, 2011 at 11:13 pm
    Permalink

    Has got to be mr tumble

  • September 19, 2011 at 12:49 am
    Permalink

    Postman Pat has appealed to all children throughout the decades !! He is my favourite

  • September 19, 2011 at 2:27 am
    Permalink

    Baby Jake is firm favourite

  • September 19, 2011 at 2:47 am
    Permalink

    It has to be Justin (Mr Tumbles)!!

  • September 19, 2011 at 3:34 am
    Permalink

    My daughter loves anything with Justin Fletcher, particularly Mr Tumble in Something Special.

  • September 19, 2011 at 3:55 am
    Permalink

    MR TUMBLE :O)

  • September 19, 2011 at 4:28 am
    Permalink

    Grandpa in my pocket :)

  • September 19, 2011 at 4:29 am
    Permalink

    My daughter absolutely loves Chris and Pui from ‘Show Me, Show Me’ and loves doing the ‘groovy moves’!!

  • September 19, 2011 at 7:21 am
    Permalink

    Baby Jake at the minute but we are fickle in our house :)

  • September 19, 2011 at 7:22 am
    Permalink

    I already subscribe to Toybuzz xx

  • September 19, 2011 at 8:51 am
    Permalink

    Has to be Something special so educational

  • September 19, 2011 at 8:57 am
    Permalink

    Love charlie and lola – lovely stories and animation!

  • September 19, 2011 at 8:57 am
    Permalink

    I have subscribed! :)

  • September 19, 2011 at 10:58 am
    Permalink

    Mr Tumble is fantastic. Appreciate Makaton signs (I use Sign Along in school). Kids adore him.

  • September 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm
    Permalink

    Mr Tumble is my favourite

  • September 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm
    Permalink

    My 2-year-old daughter LOVES Show Me Show Me – especially Uki. Didn’t know there was a DVD out, so thanks for the review! If we don’t win it’s definitely going on her Christmas list.

  • September 19, 2011 at 2:04 pm
    Permalink

    We love any of Justin Fletcher’s programmes – that guy is a genius!

  • September 21, 2011 at 6:42 am
    Permalink

    My youngest loves In the Night Garden and Rastamouse! My eldest is a big show me show me fan and he also laughs his head off when Uki comes on! I didn’t realise there was a DVD either so thanks for the review very helpful to us mums especially this time of year! victoria x

  • March 5, 2012 at 4:22 am
    Permalink

    pls. help me…. I would like to give a Uki Yellow Plush toy to my son for his first birthday, where can I buy it asap?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>